About Us

Why We Exist

Futures Theatre was established to create and produce work that puts women at the centre. Engaging with authentic female stories and developing partnerships with brilliant female artists we create theatre which ignites conversation and engenders change.

What We Do

Create theatre from a female perspective and with women centre stage

Engage and collaborate with female theatre making artists

Promote women’s professional opportunities in all areas of theatre

Enable women to increase their potential and be the women they were born to be

Encourage conversation and debate on issues often suppressed or ignored

How We Do It

Commission and produce new writing inspired by authentic female stories, for a mainstream audience

Devise and produce forum theatre productions for youth audiences across London

Deliver creative engagement programmes for vulnerable women

Provide specialist training for social workers who, in turn, support the marginalised women and young people we work with

our Team


Caroline Bryant

Artistic Director

Caroline founded Futures Theatre in 1992 as co-Artistic Director to create work with women at the centre. Prior to this she combined running a recruitment business with working as an actress and theatre director. As sole AD Caroline sets the artistic vision, directs productions, commissions new writing as well as writing herself, and forges new artistic relationships.


Flair May

Engagement Director

Flair is a writer and experienced Forum Theatre facilitator. At Futures she develops and delivers our creative engagement programme for women 'Thrive' and writes for young audiences. Flair also creates and facilitates our theatre-based training for professionals.



Lizzie Vogler

executive producer

Lizzie joined Futures Theatre in 2015, after 4 years at the Donmar Warehouse. In her role at Futures, Lizzie oversees the operations of the company, including financial management, fundraising, marketing, as well as leading on the producing of all shows.



Our Board: 

Don Stewart – Chair, Tom Rodrigo – Treasurer, Lynn Baxter, Alan Caton, Kemoh Tarawali, Vanessa Stone, Dawn Wrench